In line with government guidance our school is working towards a wider opening. Currently, we are open to key worker’s children, vulnerable children and invited year groups.


Governors are appointed by the Governing Body of St Merryn  School, in conjunction Kernow Learning.  In the Full Governing Body meeting in September of each year, each Governor completes a Pecuniary Interests form. 

At each FGB meeting and sub-committee meetings each Governor is given an opportunity to declare any Pecuniary or Business Interests. 

Please see the Kernow Learning website for information on Governance and important information including Accounts, Memorandum of Association, Articles & Funding.

For information on how to become a Governor please click here to the relevant page on the Kernow Learning website.

Any complaints should be addressed to the Chair of Governors Nicola Sowden who is also the whistleblower, her details are available through the school office 01841 520683. 

The complaints procedure can be found in our policies.

St Merryn School Local Advisory Board (LAB)

(Pecuniary Interests = PI, Attendance as of 31st Aug 15=A)

Chair of Governors: Mrs Nicola Soden.

Executive Headteacher: Mrs Kaye Pitcher  (01/09/17 Headteacher) A 100%

Head of School: Mrs Alison Brook PI – St Merryn Garage (21/09/15 Associate Member) A 100%

Mrs Brook has been Assistant Head/Head of School for 11 years in total. Not only was Alison born in the village, but she attended this primary school. Alison has been at this school for 19 years and in education for 27 years.

Community Governor: Mrs Sharon Wells (01/10/18) A 100%

Staff Governor: Mrs Tors Golay (01/12/17) A 100%

Tors Golay has been teaching at St Merryn for 3 years in both KS1 and KS2. In 2018 she became literacy lead.

Mrs Vicky Worrall is Clerk to the governors and also the school secretary.